Study Groups

Study groups are the heart of the U3A and the Aylesbury Vale U3A covers a wide range of subjects and interests as you will see form the list below. U3A members can be a member of any number of groups. Groups are operated autonomously by group leaders and their deputy. Each group is described below on a scrolling page that shows the group objectives and meeting arrangements.

The title ‘Study Group’ is admittedly rather formal but many groups are far from formal and all try to be interesting and entertaining where appropriate. It should be noted that some groups have to impose a charge – for meeting rooms, transportation, resources etc. – but this is kept to a minimum and will be disclosed upon enquiry.

There is a monthly summary of the group meetings here in landscape format

If your area of interest is not covered here then perhaps you would consider starting a group of your own! Contact our group coordinator with your ideas at groups@avu3a.org.uk Our study groups:

Alphabetical list of groups

GROUPEmail 
Bowlsbowls@avu3a.org.uk 
Bridge for Improversbridge@avu3a.org.uk 
Camping & Caravanningcamping@avu3a.org.uk 
Canastacanasta@avu3a.org.uk 
Chess chess@avu3a.org.uk 
Craftscrafts@avu3a.org.uk 
Creative Writingwriting@avu3a.org.uk 
Creative Writing-2writing2@avu3a.org.uk 
Cribbage & Dominoescrib@avu3a.org.uk 
Current Affairsaffairs@avu3a.org.uk 
Gardening garden@avu3a.org.uk 
Gentle Walksgentlewalks@avu3a.org.uk 
German Conversationgerman@avu3a.org.uk 
Historyhistory@avu3a.org.uk 
Ladies’ Cardsladiescards@avu3a.org.uk 
Let’s Talk Frenchfrench@avu3a.org.uk 
Mah Jongmahjong@avu3a.org.uk 
Military Historymilitary.history@avu3a.org.uk 
Music I Likemusic@avu3a.org.uk 
Opera Appreciationopera@avu3a.org.uk 
Out and Aboutoutandabout@avu3a.org.uk 
Paintingpainting@avu3a.org.uk 
Photography for Pleasurephoto@avu3a.org.uk 
Play Readingplayreading@avu3a.org.uk 
Poetry 1 poetry1@avu3a.org.uk 
Poetry 2poetry2@avu3a.org.uk 
Psychologypsychology@avu3a.org.uk 
Readers’ Circle 1readerscircle1@avu3a.org.uk 
Readers’ Circle 2 readerscircle2@avu3a.org.uk 
Readers’ Circle 3readerscircle3@avu3a.org.uk 
Scottish Dancingscottishdancing@avu3a.org.uk 
Scrabblescrabble@avu3a.org.uk 
Sounds of the Sixtiessixties@avu3a.org.uk 
Sounds of the 50’s & 70’sfifties70s@avu3a.org.uk 
Spanishspanish@avu3a.org.uk 
Swimming for Pleasureswimming@avu3a.org.uk 
Tai Chitaichi@avu3a.org.uk 
Ten Pin Bowlingtenpin@avu3a.org.uk 
Theatre Visitstheatre@avu3a.org.uk 
Theatre Workshoptheatre_workshop@avu3a.org.uk 
Transporttransport@avu3a.org.uk 
Ukulele strummers@avu3a.org.uk 
Walks, Locallocalwalks@avu3a.org.uk 
Walks, Exploring Londonwalkslon@avu3a.org.uk 
Wine Appreciation 1 wine1@avu3a.org.uk 
Wine Appreciation 2wine2@avu3a.org.uk