Study Groups List

Study groups are the heart of the U3A and the Aylesbury Vale U3A covers a wide range of subjects and interests as you will see form the list below. U3A members can be a member of any number of groups. Groups are operated autonomously by group leaders and their deputy. Each group is described below on a scrolling page that shows the group objectives and meeting arrangements.

The title ‘Study Group’ is admittedly rather formal but many groups are far from formal and all try to be interesting and entertaining where appropriate. It should be noted that some groups have to impose a charge – for meeting rooms, transportation, resources etc. – but this is kept to a minimum and will be disclosed upon enquiry.

There is a monthly summary of the group meetings here in landscape or portrait format

If your area of interest is not covered here then perhaps you would consider starting a group of your own! Contact our group coordinator with your ideas at groups@avu3a.org.uk Our study groups:

Alphabetical list of groups

GROUPEmail
3rd Age Strummersstrummers@avu3a.org.uk
Bowlsbowls@avu3a.org.uk
Bridge for Improvers
bridge@avu3a.org.uk
Camping and Caravanning camping@avu3a.org.uk
Canasta canasta@avu3a.org.uk
Chess chess@avu3a.org.uk
Crafts crafts@avu3a.org.uk
Creative Writing writing@avu3a.org.uk
Cribbage & Dominoes crib@avu3a.org.uk
Current Affairs affairs@avu3a.org.uk
Gardening Garden@avu3a.org.uk
Gentle Walks gentlewalks@avu3a.org.uk
German Conversation german@avu3a.org.uk
History history@avu3a.org.uk
Ladies’ Cards ladiescards@avu3a.org.uk
Let’s Talk French french@avu3a.org.uk
Mah Jong mahjong@avu3a.org.uk
Military History military.history@avu3a.org.uk
Music I Like music@avu3a.org.uk
Opera Appreciation opera@avu3a.org.uk
Out and About outandabout@avu3a.org.uk
Painting painting@avu3a.org.uk
Photography for Pleasure photo@avu3a.org.uk
Play Reading playreading@avu3a.org.uk
Poetry 1 poetry1@avu3a.org.uk
Poetry 2 poetry2@avu3a.org.uk
Psychology psychology@avu3a.org.uk
Readers’ Circle 1 readerscircle1@avu3a.org.uk
Readers’ Circle 2 readerscircle2@avu3a.org.uk
Readers’ Circle 3 readerscircle3@avu3a.org.uk
Scottish Country Dancing scottishdancing@avu3a.org.uk
Scrabble scrabble@avu3a.org.uk
Sounds of the Sixties sixties@avu3a.org.uk
Sounds of the 50’s & 70’s fifties70s@avu3a.org.uk
Spanish spanish@avu3a.org.uk
Swimming for Pleasure swimming@avu3a.org.uk
Tai Chi taichi@avu3a.org.uk
Ten Pin Bowling tenpin@avu3a.org.uk
Theatre Workshop theatre_workshop@avu3a.org.uk
Transport transport@avu3a.org.uk
Walks, Exploring London walkslon@avu3a.org.uk
Walks, Local localwalks@avu3a.org.uk
Wildlife & Nature Watch wildlife@avu3a.org.uk
Wine Appreciation 1 wine1@avu3a.org.uk
Wine Appreciation 2 wine2@avu3a.org.uk

Comments are closed.